Tags

I struggle at times with living in a state of boredom.  Same job, same people, same house, same struggles, same, same, same, blah, blah, blah . . . .  My days seem to blend together and aren’t distinguishable from one day to the next.  I yearn for that spark when I was younger when every experience was new and fresh and transitions through life seemed to happen much more quickly (high school, college, work force, more college, moving to a new place).  There was always a new stage of life right around the corner to look forward to.  Then, from my mid-20s on, I have lived into this steady constant.  Ten years at the same job, just as long at the same church, and almost as long living in the same neighborhood..  How do I see this blissful boredom as a joy and not a ‘downer?’  That the success I’ve reached at my job, invaluable relationships I hold, and comfort and security I’ve found in my neighborhood are the very essence of my life.  My expectation of ‘exciting and new’ needs to shift.  Aren’t I in control of my own boredom?  Don’t I define what that looks like?

How fitting that I should read the following quote in my devotional this week:

To be bored is to turn down cold whatever life happens to be offering you at the moment.  It is to cast a jaundiced eye at life in general including most of all your own life.  You feel nothing is worth getting excited about because you are yourself not worth getting excited about.
To be bored is a way of making the least of things you often have a sneaking suspicion you need the most.
To be bored to death is a form of suicide.
Listening to your Life by Frederick Buechner

I believe God shows us his most magnificent work in the small and seemingly ordinary (like the miracle of sharing this Buechner quote at the exact moment He knew I needed it).  I wish to live in the present.  I’m excited by daily interactions with others.  I am thankful for the security and comfort of my home I’ve worked so hard to make my own.  I am blessed by countless close relationships that feed my soul and bring me indescribable joy.  Boredom?  Sameness?  Blessing.
