Tags

, , , , ,

Psalm 139 speaks to my soul. It contains some of my favorite verses in all of scripture. These are my ‘go to’ verses when I need reassurance that God is there and that He loves me. This Psalm is like a great big bear hug; it makes me happy; it assures me that I am undeniably treasured and adored. It defines what my faith is all about. It reminds me that I am dear and loved beyond my wildest imagination.
 
One of my friends shared this song with me several years ago when I was going through a rough time. The lyrics follow the verses of Psalm 139 and the music was written by the incomparable Contemporary Christian group, MercyMe.
 
 
How can you breathe in and reflect on these words and NOT feel amazingly loved? These words live in me. I’ve been reflecting on these verses very closely over the last few days. How do these words speak to me? What is God’s message to me at this time? These are my reflections from the past few days on Psalm 139:  
 
Psalm 139: 1-18 (New Living Translation)
O Lord, you have examined my heart
and know everything about me.
You know when I sit down or stand up.
You know my thoughts even when I’m far away.
You see me when I travel
and when I rest at home.
You know everything I do.
You know what I am going to say
even before I say it, Lord.
verses 1-4
 
NO ONE knows everything about me. It’s impossible for another human being to know me that intimately. God knows the external and internal. He knows every struggle and joy and tear and laugh and shout and sigh and mumble and praise. He knows me better than I know myself. He is that unwavering constant as I ebb and flow on my journey. How amazing is that?! Throughout my whole life, during my highest of highs and lowest of lows, God has been ever present, unwavering, and constant. When I really think about what that means, it is incredible to me. There is no earthly comparison that even comes close to it.
 
I have always found such comfort when I travel, especially during my overseas adventures, that God is always there. Even when everything around me is foreign and I’m thousands of miles away from home, He is there. He knows every move I make before I make it. He anticipates danger and protects me from it. He guides me to safety and fills my heart with peace. He brings about a comfort unlike anything I’ve ever known.
 
You go before me and follow me.
You place your hand of blessing on my head.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too great for me to understand!
verses 5-6
 
God goes before me and after me, but he also carries me when I am the most broken. It’s easy for me to picture God leading me, but what a beautiful image that He follows me as well. He protects me before and after. He encourages me onward and supports me from behind. I will never understand God’s all-knowing wisdom. I am not meant to figure out His awesomeness. His ways defy thought.
 
I can never escape from your Spirit!
I can never get away from your presence!
If I go up to heaven, you are there;
if I go down to the grave, you are there.
If I ride the wings of the morning,
if I dwell by the farthest oceans,
even there your hand will guide me,
and your strength will support me.
verses 7-10
 
I love the visual imagery in these verses. I picture playing a game of hide-and-go seek with God. Even if I find the best hiding spot, the most out-of-the way nook and cranny where NO ONE will ever find me, God will still know where I am. God is EVERYWHERE; all of the time. He is closer to me than my own self. I can go off to the depths and He is still there. I can hide from Him in a faraway land and He will find me. He is in my joy-filled moments, my periods of despair….and everywhere in between. I can’t run far enough away from His presence.
 
I could ask the darkness to hide me
and the light around me to become night –
but even in darkness I cannot hide from you.
To you the night shines as bright as day.
Darkness and light are the same to you.
verses 11-12
 
Why is the darkness so frightening? It’s gripping at times. It won’t let me go. But, to God, dark and light are equals. He doesn’t distinguish between the two. I imagine that having total trust in God would make my perception of dark and light equal as well. Nothing is scary when I know that God’s got my back. Why is it so hard for me to remember this?
 
You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
and knit me together in my mother’s womb.
Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
Your workmanship is marvelous – how well I know it.
You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,
as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.
You saw me before I was born.
Every day of my life was recorded in your book.
Every moment was laid out
before a single day had passed.
verses 13-16
 
Every single ounce of my being was created with intention. I was not an accident. There has never been anyone quite like me and won’t be ever again. God had it in His plan that I should be here, in this time and place, since the beginning of creation. He anticipates every moment of every hour of every day of my entire life. He’s been awaiting my arrival since the dawn of time. What challenge. What honor. To live into HIS will for me so that I might be His light in this world.
 
How precious are your thoughts about me, O God.
They cannot be numbered!
I can’t even count them;
they outnumber the grains of sand!
And when I wake up,
you are still with me!
verses 17-18
 
I will never comprehend just how much God loves me. He is always focused on me and aware of me. When I rise each morning, I picture Him ready and waiting with His plans for us for the day ahead. Where are we going? What eternal lessons will I learn today? Which intentional interactions with others will I experience? What messages does He have for me? How will my faith grow today? What a blessing to have His Word to remind and encourage me of His undying faithfulness. “…..and, I will sing . . . sing a new song . . . because You love me.”
