Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve said the Lord’s Prayer every single week for as long as I can remember. I’ve said it in times of struggle; in times of great joy; in times of doubt; in times of thanksgiving. No matter how I’m feeling or what season of life I’m in, the prayer itself has always been the same. This is the miracle of His Word. It’s living, and yet is steady and unchanging at the same time. God is the same . . . now, always, and forever. Even if I’m different every time I approach Him, God is constant. He is my anchor. He is my stronghold. He withstands all of my pain and struggles. There is no pain or struggle or fear or disappointment that is more powerful than He is.
 
ImageThe Bible refers to God as a Rock. I think of Him more as a Boulder. Completely unmoveable. It’s like the huge boulders I encounter on the mountain trails I love to hike. Boulders are solid. They’re powerful. They are impossible to budge. I could visit a trail every year for the rest of my life and those boulders will still be there . . . in the exact location, looking exactly the same. I can lean on God with all of my weight. I can push Him with all of my strength and He will not budge. He is sure and steady. He is unwavering and constant. He will remain strong and steadfast. God is in charge. I am not. Thank goodness!
 
 
 
 
 

1 My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

On Christ, the solid Rock I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.

 
We sang this hymn in church recently. I’ve sung this hymn for years growing up in the church, but for some reason, it really resonated with me this time. Christ is solid. Christ is my firm foundation. Everything else is sinking and temporary. I fail and struggle and sink on any other foundation but His. If my hope is not built on Him, then what is it built on? How sure is THAT foundation?
 
2 When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.
 
On Christ, the solid Rock I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.
 
This is such a beautiful verse. A veil. That’s what I feel like happens sometimes. Not that God disappears, He’s always there, but that a veil is there. Like a covering that makes it feel like God’s not as present as He is at other times. He is veiled when struggles or burdens or hardships enter into my life and make it harder for me to see Him because I try to figure it all out by myself. I fail. The distance is like the darkness. His anchor continues to hold steady even though I can’t see it. When I relinquish control to Him and seek His will, the veil is lifted and light ushers in. The anchor holds through the storms in my life and keeps me grounded in His truth.
 
3 His oath, His covenant, His blood
Support me in the whelming flood;
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my hope and stay.
 
On Christ, the solid Rock I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.
 
Sometimes I feel like I’ve given all that I am and all that I have and I’m out of options. It feels like a wave has washed over me and the only thing I know to do is to give it up. To pick up the pieces and hand them all over to God. It’s those times of being overwhelmed when I surrender and allow Him to be my courage and strength. It’s not easy. It’s hard for me to let go. Gosh, I wish I would let go sooner than I do. I wish I would trust enough to not get to the point of desperation when I’ve tried all of MY options. If I would just take ME out of the equation and trust in His will, I wouldn’t get to the point of sheer frustration and pain. I guess that’s what He’s teaching me. These are the lessons that help me understand what NOT to do. And, sometimes I learn the most from the mistakes I’ve made. Through it all, God is that steady constant. He is my strength. He is unchanging. He is my Boulder.
 
4 When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh may I then in Him be found,
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne
 
On Christ, the solid Rock I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.
 
 
(Hymn: My Hope is Built on Nothing Less, written by Edward Mote 1797-1874)
