Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I follow several bloggers who post a weekly ‘inspirations’ or a regular ‘top five’ blog entry. It’s a way of sharing good things that are happening in their lives. I love this idea. Quotes. Photos. Videos. Stories. Conversations. Vignettes. What a wonderful outlet to share nuggets of joy and put blessings before burdens. I’m looking forward to consistently posting “High5” entries each month. Here’s my first High5 for August 18, 2013:
 
1.
Aaron Copland’s Quiet City
I love to play classical music in the evenings, especially when I’ve had a hectic day or am in desperate need of some “I” time. This piece is on a cd I have titled, Meditations for a Summer Evening. When you have 10 minutes, give it a listen. The beautiful solo trumpet melody builds to a stunning climax within the last three minutes of the piece. Copland’s music is so simple, so lovely, so hopeful. This piece is like a dream and takes me back to another time. I love getting lost in it.
 
 
 
2.
Butterflies
ImageI was in the mountains last weekend and we hiked a lesser-traveled trail to an amazing waterfall. On the way back from the falls, it started to rain. As we were walking through a field of wild flowers, a swarm of butterflies surrounded us. They fluttered and danced and landed on the beautiful wildflowers in the field, completely oblivious to the fact that we were in the midst of them. We paused and got some amazing shots. It was one of those precious moments with nature that I’ll never experience in the same way again. What a gift!
 
 

3.
Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret
I finished re-reading this iconic Judy Blume novel from my childhood earlier this week. For the longest time, I didn’t want to read it again. I didn’t want to read it as a 30-something and have that perspective overshadow my impressionable 12-year-old perception. Well, I’m glad I read it again. It brought back those warm, fuzzy feelings of reading it 25 years ago. Although I didn’t remember all of the details, there was a familiarity while I was reading…almost like I was tapping into my adolescent self. Such a special experience!
 
 
4.
Mary Tyler Moore
I’ve been hooked on watching old episodes of the Mary Tyler Moore Show this summer. I started at season 1, episode 1 and fit in the 25-minute episodes at different points in my week. I see a lot of myself in Mary….single girl in her 30s, moving to a new place, has a job that she loves. I love the close relationships she has with her co-workers and friends, Phyllis and Rhoda. The show just makes me happy.
 
 
5.
Project Life
Would you believe I already decided on my New Year’s Resolution for 2014? My sister scrapbooks the life of their family using the Project Life method. I’ve been so intrigued by this concept and decided that I would document each week of my life for 52 weeks, starting in January 2014. For now, I’m gathering page layout ideas, organizing tips, supplies I’ll need, etc. so I’ll be ready to embark on this journey in a few months. But, I’m super stoked about it right now and wanted to capture it here.
 
