Tags

, , , , , ,

1.
Joy rocks
A friend texted me this photo on a day earlier this month when I coveted prayers. ImageShe created it using rocks near a mountain stream. Sooooo what I needed on that day and it brings me joy everytime I see it.
 
2. 
SYTYCD
I love the show So You Think You Can Dance. It’s like American Idol, but for dancers. The talent on the show is absolutely ridiculous! Dancers perform several routines each week in styles from jazz to the jive, from contemporary to the Viennese waltz, from Broadway to hip-hop. I love that my mom and I usually watch the show ‘together’ by messaging each other and giving our assessment of routines and dancers. This season of SYTYCD is winding down and the finale and selection of “America’s Favorite Dancer” occurs within the next few weeks. My votes are in . . . Go Amy! Go Fik-Shun!
 
3.
The Sound of Sunshine by Michael Franti
 
 
A 13-year-old introduced me to this song. I love it! To me, it sings of pure joy. It’s a feel good, happy summer song. ‘Here I am just waiting for this storm to pass me by. And, that’s the sound of sunshine coming down.’  Have a listen and smile. . . . 
 
4.
Gifts of Frailty and Inadequacy
If you never felt pain: How would you know that I am the Healer?
If you never went through difficulties: How would you know that I am the Deliverer?
If you never made a mistake: How would you know that I am the Forgiver?
If you never felt sadness: How would you know that I am the Comforter?
If you knew all things: How would you know that I will answer your questions?
If you were never in trouble: How would you know that I will come to rescue you?
If you were never broken: How would you know that I can make you whole?
If you never had a problem: How would you know that I can solve them?
If you never had any suffering: How would you know what Jesus went through?
If you never went through fire: How would you become pure?
If I gave you all things: How would you appreciate them?
If I never corrected you: How would you know that I love you?
If you had all the power: How would you learn to depend on me?
If you were perfect: What would you need me for?
 
A friend shared this with me several years ago. I printed it out and posted it on my bulletin board over my desk in my home office. I read it the other evening, intentionally, and let the words really sink in. Such power and beauty and simplicity. It’s a gift that needs to be shared.
 
5.
G-ma’s roses
I have an incredibly brown thumb. I love having plants, I just forget about them after the novelty of having new lovelies has worn off. Forgetting about them = no water for them. You can see where this is going. ImageI gave my Gma a tiny pink rose plant for her to keep in her apartment a few years ago. After several months, she gave it back to me saying that it really should be planted and she wanted me to enjoy it. Knowing my somewhat tragic growing history, I was reluctant to accept. But, I planted those roses out back and they’re thriving! I don’t pay them any extra attention, they just seem to love it at my house. My Gma loves it and is alway eager for photo updates of “her roses.” It brings me joy when I see that they’re the flowers that thrive the most on my patio.
